Ravenclaw Pride Day!!

“Wit beyond measure is a man’s greatest treasure”

 

Hello Everybody!!

Every year in March for four days, 20th-23rd, Potterheads across the world celebrate and represent their house pride. I know I am uploading the day after, however, on the 23rd March 2017, it was Ravenclaw Pride Day. (As you can probably tell by the title of this post).

Ravenclaw in a nutshell – from Wiki:

Ravenclaw House prizes learning, wisdom, wit, and intellect in its members. Thus, many Ravenclaws tend to be academically motivated and talented students. Ravenclaws also pride themselves in being original in their ideas, and methods. Students in Ravenclaw can also be quirky and possess unusual intellectual interests. Ravenclaws usually accept and celebrate these eccentrics.

I highlighted some things in that description that apply to me and why I identify as a Ravenclaw. No questions asked, I am a Ravenclaw through and through – watching the Harry potter films and reading the books I alway felt like I belonged in Ravenclaw. I didn’t follow the heroes and want to be in Gryffindor, I wanted to be sorted properly and hangout with Luna Lovegood because I admired (and still do) her view on the world around her.

I am not saying I am super duper clever but I will say that I’m not stupid. I valued school from a young age and always enjoyed it. Well………that was until I experienced A-Levels, they ruined my love for school. However, even though I’m not going to university, I still think education is important and learning new things always excits and interests me. I make sure I learn a new fact everyday and I keep up with basic mathematics.

Now, some knowledge from memory…..here we go…..

The founder of Ravenclaw is Rowena Ravenclaw she had a daughter named Helena (portrayed by Kelly MacDonald), who is now formaly known as The Grey Lady and she “haunts” Ravenclaw House. However, she rarely talks to anyone but she does help if you are lost in the castle or if you have misplaced something she will help you find it. Head of House is Professor Flitwick (portrayed by Warrick Davis). Flitwick teaches charms and is the conducter of the school choir. Then we have the students, there are many to name but im just gonna name a few.

Luna Lovegood – ACTUAL QUEEN!! I admire her so much, I think she is so cool and unique. Luna Lovegood is the daughter of Xenophilius Lovegood, who is the editor of the Quibbler. Luna is introduced to us in the Order of the Phoenix, she is nicknamed “Looney” Lovegood because she is perculiar and quirky, she gets bullied by students however she doesn’t let it fase her. She stays quirky and doesnt let society change her.

Cho Chang – I have changed my opinion on Cho Chang because she really use to geet on my nerves – book and film version. I have nothing against the actress, it was the character. The way she was portrayed, in my eyes, she was kind of helpless and she just….. I’m not even sure, I just didnt really like her to start with but I then thought about all the crap she went through in her final years at Hogwarts. Her boyfriend died!!!! Like I can’t imagine how painful that is. She has the right to grieve. She defended her friend who snitched about Dumbledore’s army (in the books). Cho was threatened by Umbridge, who was going to fire her mother. She was put under Veritaserum by Umbridge – she was forced to talk about Dumbledore’s army – against her will – and she was treated like poop by everybody!! So I do have sympathy for her that I didn’t before and I feel bad for disliking her so much.

Obviously there are many other Ravenclaw alumini’s however Luna and Cho mean the most to me.

Anyways I hope you enjoyed this Ravenclaw – Harry Potter themed post.

Speak to you soon!

Wise flower xx

Leave a Reply

